Book Tag, Uncategorized

Halloween Tag

Image result for halloween gifs

Carving pumpkins- what book would you carve up and light on fire?

Isis: Bombora by Mal Peters. I read that book first thing this year and absolutely hated it. I bought it solely because it was originally fanfiction, but the characters were cold and empty. I hated everyone. The storyline was poorly done. Just a terrible disappointment. Free fanfiction is so much better.

Nicole: A Clockwork Orange By Anthony Burgess. I just hate it.

Trick or treat- what character is a treat, what character is a trick?

Isis: Skylar St. Clair from Gives Light by Rose Christo was such a treat. I loved his innocence and then his strength. He was just a full ray of sunshine. I adored him.

Having recently read The Importance of Being Earnes by Oscar Wilde, I’m going to go with Algernon as the trick character. The guy was the best part of the story, especially because he tricked everyone and he did it so well. I loved his sense of humor.

Nicole: Wylie from The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight is a treat. I love her so much right now, and she’s such a good friend and human.

For a trick character, I’ll have to go with Peeves from Harry Potter. He’s always messing up everyone’s day for laughs. 

Candy corn- what book is always sweet?

Isis: My favorite book of all time, of course. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz is the sweetest of all books. It will always hold a special place in my heart. I’ve read it four times and plan to read it many times again in the future.

Nicole: The Dragonbreath series by Ursula Vernon. Such light easy reads with good art and lovely friendships.

Ghosts- what character would you love to visit you as a ghost?

Isis: This is a weird question, but I’m gonna go with Ty Grady from the Cut & Run series. I never knew if I loved or hated Ty, though I definitely felt many emotions towards him. I think he was intimidating but also a goofball. He’d make a good ghost. I wouldn’t mind being visited by him. I’m sure he’d try his hardest to scare me but then he would make sure I was okay.

Nicole: Magnus Chase from Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. I don’t know if ghosts are possible in that world since for all the book he is already dead, but he would be so much fun to hang around and to tell me all about dying.

Dressing up in costume- what character would you want to be for a day?

Isis: I’m gonna go with Prince Robot IV. He kicks ass. I love his style. Love his wit. Love his entire being. I would love to be him for a day.

Nicole: Being Peter Pan would be pretty cool. I would get to fly around an island all day talking to fairies and mermaids.

Wizards and witches- what is your favorite Harry Potter moment?

Isis: I love the way everyone comes together in the Order of the Phoenix and create Dumblebore’s Army. That was my favorite moment. When everyone shows up ready to train and fight back. Makes me so proud of all my children.

(Also, I love the moment Sirius tells Harry he can come live with him in Prisoner of Azkaban. I cried so hard.)

Nicole: I was going to go with the DA, but that would be boring since Isis already talked about it. There’s so many little favorite moments, but I’ll go with the graveyard scene at the end of Goblet of Fire. It was the first Harry Potter book that I had read, and it was before the fifth book came out so I had no idea there was even going to be a fifth one. It was so creepy and intense, and I remember being so scared for Harry. It’s one of the rare moments I’ve been completely invested in a book.

Blood and gore- what book was so creepy that you had to take a break from it for awhile?

Isis: I’m not creeped out easily. But many moments in The Shining by Stephen King creeped me out. I think the ending of Angelfall by Susan Ee was one of the most gruesome ones I’ve ever read. Overall though, I can’t think of anything.

Nicole: I remember having to put Angelfall down at the end because I was surprised she went there. I had to put Extreme Zombies down because of the rape scene in it because it was disgusting. But I can’t think of a story where I’ve been so creeped out I had to put it down. I don’t think I’ve that many scary books.

Leave a comment