The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight

Standard

The Outliers (The Outliers, #1)

Because that’s the way anxiety works. It’s a decoy. I can’t do anything about those big things, so I’ll worry about something else. I’ll worry about this baby next to me, who is definitely, totally fine. But maybe, just maybe, might not be.

The Outliers is the first book in a young adult thriller trilogy.  It follows Wylie Lang as she tries to find her missing estranged friend, Cassie, with her friend’s boyfriend, Jasper, who she doesn’t like or trust. She’s dealing with her mother’s death along with anxiety so severe that she hadn’t stepped outside for three weeks before the start of the book.

 This book was a roller coaster. I loved Wylie. I related to her and anxiety a lot. I’ve looked at other reviews, and a lot of people found it unrealistic, but for me I got everything she was feeling and how she had to push past her anxiety at some points. I also really liked Jasper, and how their relationship was. I think that was my favorite part of the whole book.

As for the plot, honestly, I’m still a little confused. There was plot twist after plot twist towards the end that I’m still a little fuzzy on the truth. Plus, there was just some logic there I had to accept at face value, or I wouldn’t have gotten anywhere. People also complained with how things ended up that it’s jumping genres, but that didn’t bother me.

But that ending though. I love it even if it’s a little cheap. It made me think of that Vine where the umbrellas are being thrown by the wind across the beach (here it is if you’re interested though maybe possible spoiler?). Still makes me excited for the next book. Which I am definitely reading.

I do have concerns about where the story is going. However, I can’t really say anything because it spoils the book. I just want to discuss every detail of this book with someone. A solid four star book for me.

Leave a Reply

