The Ghost and Mrs. Hobbs by Cynthia DeFelice

Standard

966973

“It’s so weird, Al. It’s like you attract ghosts. Like you’re some kind of – ghost magnet.

“That’s one way to put it, I guess,” said Allie, not sure if the idea made her feel proud or uncomfortable.

This is the second book in the ghost mysteries series. I reviewed the first one here. It follows eleven year old Allie who can see ghosts. She’s supposed to interview an elder for a school project, and a new ghost is guiding her into helping him. Allie wants to help, but finds things quickly spiraling out of her control.

I had a little bit of frustration with this book, I must admit. The answer seems so obvious to me from the very beginning that I wonder how can you not think things through a little more carefully. But it is a children’s mystery book, and I still end up enjoying it a lot. Maybe that’s a point in the book’s favor. I knew what would happen yet I still really liked it.

This one is a lot more darker than the first one. Allie has to learn not to take everything at face value. Placing trust in someone can end up to be very dangerous. It’s a good lesson to have, and makes the series going forward a little bit more complicated. I hope, at least.

I gave this one a four star rating. I think it is a ton better than the first one. It’s an easy, addictive read. I finished it in one day. Before I wasn’t sure if I would continue the series. I picked this one up on a whim when I saw it on the library shelf. But I know for sure that I will be picking up the third one.

Leave a Reply

