The Ghost of Fossil Glen by Cynthia C. DeFelice

Standard

1644879

For as long as she could remember, she’d been hoping for something really exciting to happen. She’d believed in the unbelievable, expected the unexpected. She’d wanted it to be true that there was more to life than the everyday world people saw. But now that something totally inexplicable seemed to be happening, and happening to her, she felt partly thrilled and partly afraid.

The Ghost of Fossil Glen is a Middle Grade mystery that I had read partially in elementary school and never finished. It’s a story about Allie, an 11-year-old girl with a lot imagination and a love for fossils. She is dealing with her friends calling her a liar, a voice in her head, and her parent’s concern for her.

This was a lot different than I remember. Not necessarily a bad thing but not a good thing either. I remember this being fast paced, terribly scary, and innovative. Now that I’ve read it now I found it to be more than a little cliche and convenient while still being fast paced. By convenient I mean that a lot of the times things happen to Allie. She falls onto a lot of clues accidentally instead of doing anything to move the plot forward. 

The mystery itself is very simple, and very simply solved. I can complain a lot about this book, but in the end I still enjoyed myself. It might be nostalgia talking, but I needed to know what would happen next.

I don’t think this is the best written book, but I do think it’s a lot of fun. I ended up giving it three stars. It’s the first in a series of four books, and I’m not against picking up more in the future.  

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Ghost and Mrs. Hobbs by Cynthia DeFelice | Writing Follies

Leave a Reply

