The Reading Quest TBR

Standard

 

mage_1light copy.pngbard_2olive copy.png

Nicole: 

Two weeks ago Booktube-A-Thon ended. It’s the first Read-A-Thon I’d done in a long time, and I had a lot of fun doing it even if I didn’t do a lot of what I set out to do. I came away from it vowing to do another one as soon as I could, and luckily, this one popped up soon after. ReadatMidnight is hosting this really creative video game based challenge. I’ve picked the mage path to do first since I love magic, and I’ve even managed to convince Isis to join in.

A book with a one word title:

22095547

I picked Serpentine by Cindy Pon for this challenge. I’ve been meaning to read this one for a while, but I’ve never been able to get it before. It’s inspired by Chinese mythology, and is 274 pages long.

A book that contains magic:

30095464

I’ve put this book off for so long that it is ridiculous. It’s about this girl who raises her brother from the dead, and it’s 406 pages.

A book based on mythology:

561456

I meant to read this during the booktube-a-thon, but it didn’t end up happening. It’s 312 pages.

A book set in a different world:

7823592

This book takes place in a portal world that I think involves fairies. I don’t know much about it to be honest. It’s 394 pages.

The first book in a series:

17899351

I’ve been so nervous to start this book since it’s a bit bigger, but I think it’s time. Set in the 1920s, it involves the occult and serial killers. It’s 578 pages.

All in all that’s 1,964 pages. There’s extra challenges and I could go through the other paths too, but I will be mainly focusing on these five. If I read more that’s cool, but nothing I’m focusing on right now.

Isis:

I chose to play as the Bard just ’cause he’s the cutest. These are the books I chose for each category:

 

A book that has a tv/book adaption:

8621462

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (205 pages). I’ve heard a lot about this book, mostly that it’s sad. I’m hoping it’s not too sad though. 

A fairy tale retellings:

6933600

A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn (371 pages). I don’t know why I bought this book, but I’m guessing it happened during the time I was obsessed with Beastly by the same author. This is a Sleeping Beauty retelling. 

A book cover with striking typography:

15798674

Fat Angie by E. E. Charlton-Trujillo (263 pages). This one has great typography, the words of the title create the shape of the MC. All I know is that this book is gay, so I’m excited. 

A book translated from another language:

11299

After the Quake by Haruki Murakami (147 pages). I don’t know what this one’s about but I’ve heard good things about the author. 

A banned book: 

5107

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger (214 pages). I’ve wanted to read this since I read Perks of Being a Wallflower. I hope I end up loving it. 

In total I’m hoping to read 1,200 pages.

 

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

