Goodreads Tag

Standard

Image result for goodreads

1. What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

Isis: Green but for a Season by C.S. Pacat. It’s a short story set in the Captive Prince world and I wasn’t going to read it but I have serious Captive Prince withdrawals and it just happened.

Nicole: The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi. I reviewed it here. It was really good.

 
2. What are you currently reading?

Isis: -Gabi, a Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero – amazing so far, but it’s taking me way too long to finish. COLLEGE! FRUSTRATION!

-In the Country We Love: My Family Divided by Diane Guerrero – same thing here!

-Sweaters & Cigarettes by Mika Fox – I stopped reading this one in August of last year, and haven’t picked it back up. I’m not even halfway through and there’s been so much angst already, kinda. I don’t know how I feel about it.

Nicole: On Goodreads it says I am currently reading 24 books, and I don’t have half of them anymore. I’m actually currently reading Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan which I am loving, Ink and Ashes by Valynne E. Maetanti which I was loving but then I got distracted by Magnus Chase, The Pants Project by Cat Clarke which I’m liking but it’s taking too long to read, and Hero by Perry Moore but the first chapter is so info dumpy and boring I dread picking it up again.  

 
3. What was the last book you marked as ‘TBR’?

Isis: Cosmic by Frank Cottrell Boyce – I bought this one today at a library book sale. It’s a children’s book and it sounds like fun.

Nicole: Peter Darling by Austin Chant. I read a review about it, and it sounds really good.

 
4. What book do you plan to read next?

Isis: Honestly, I have no idea. I know I need to get to Juliet Takes a Breath soon, so probably that.

Nicole: It’s between Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza or Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia since I check them out from the library and they are due soon.

 
5. Do you use the star rating system?

Isis: Yes, and I try not to give 5 stars too often. A lot of my favorite books are 4 stars actually.

Nicole: Yes I usually add them to my reviews. My profile says my average rating is 3.63.

 
6. Are you doing a 2017 Reading Challenge?

Isis: Yes, and it’s for 30 books. I’m currently 6 books ahead of schedule!

Nicole: I set it for 52 books, but I’m currently 8 books behind schedule.

 
7. Do you have a wishlist?

Isis: Yes, it’s one of my Goodreads shelves: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/17632530?shelf=wishlist

Nicole: No I don’t.

 

8. What book do you plan to buy next?

Isis: I ordered on Amazon Saga vol 7 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples, Star-Crossed by Barbara Dee, and the paperback version of Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I won’t be getting these in the mail until the paperback of Carry On is released, so until May. 😦

Nicole: I really want to buy The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas and The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig.

 
9. Do you have any favorite quotes, would you like to share a few?

Isis: “You wanted to feel alive, right? It doesn’t matter if you’re monster or human. Living hurts.” – Victoria Schwab, This Savage Song

“We are the dead. Our only true life is in the future.” – George Orwell, 1984

“I’ll always hate shoes.” -Benjamin Alire Saenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Nicole: I don’t really keep track of quotes honestly.

 
10. Who are your favorite authors?

Isis: BENJAMIN ALIRE SAENZ. I will literally buy anything he publishes. I actually already have, but I mean in the future. Then there’s Rainbow Rowell, Victoria Schwab, and David Levithan. You know, the usual.

Nicole: Victoria Schwab, Rick Riordan, Mildred D. Taylor, Ursula Vernon. I think Karuna Riazi can easily become one.

 
11. Have you joined any groups?

Isis: Nicole and I have a group on Goodreads called Hopeful Wanderers and you’re welcome to join. We do update it, though our reading is veryyyy slow. Still, it’s not abandoned: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/107752-hopeful-wanderers

Nicole: The one Isis linked is all. I tried to be a part of the Austentatious Book Club, but then never read any of the books.

 
12. Are there any questions you would like to add?

How about, what’s the last book you added as “favorite”? And what are the number of books you have in the read and want to read categories?

Isis:  Mine is At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson. I’ve raved about this book endlessly so I won’t do it again. But if you haven’t read it, definitely check it out. I loved it! I currently have 294 read, and 766 to read.

Nicole: I don’t ever put any books in other categories but I would have put The Gauntlet. And I currently have 190 books read, and 583 in the want to read category.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

