Favorite Romance Films

Standard

love-1

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I’ve put together this list compiling my top favorite romance films. I’ll admit, I’m a sucker for a good romantic movie. I love sitting back with a good snack and watching two fictional characters fall madly in love with each other. Who doesn’t? Isn’t fun to root for two people to finally get together after so many obstacles and misunderstandings? (I grew up watching telenovelas, so this is a way of life for me). Anyway, let’s begin.

 

Pride and Prejudice (2005)

pp

I’m sure everyone has seen this masterpiece, but I had to include it anyway. Having seen mostly all adaptations of this Jane Austen story, I have to say that this one stands out. It isn’t exactly like the book, but another thing entirely, and that’s what makes it so great. It keeps the best parts of the characters and relationships, but adds it a little extra humor and fun.

The Wedding Singer (1998)

the-wedding-singer-1998

Let’s be honest. This is probably one of the best Adam Sandler movies ever made. But this movie is made ten times better thanks to Drew Barrymore and her sweet charisma. This movie is kind of a big cliche, but I’m not even mad about it. I love every moment, and every ridiculous and beautiful song in it.

City of Angels (1998)

city_of_angels

And here we have the movie that always makes me listen to Iris on repeat and sing my heart out while crying over the bittersweet ending. I have a love/hate relationship with this movie. The whole angel thing doesn’t excuse Nicholas Cage from stalking poor Meg Ryan even when she’s in the bathtub. I mean, come on. It just goes to show that even angels are big creeps. But I still root for these two every time.

Big Eden (2000)

big-eden

This is one of those unbelievably sweet and feel-good movies that don’t come too often. I adore this one so much that it’s my usual go-to whenever I need a lift me up. It’s just so damn beautiful. Henry and Pike go through so much before they can be together, but it is so worth it in the end. And what could be better than a small town being so accepting and encouraging of two men falling for each other? Probably nothing.

When Harry Met Sally (1989)

405169ac0b151ac7ef2a1089760613c3

Meg Ryan was the literal queen of rom-coms back in the day. This is another classic, of course. I’ve seen this one quite a few times, and it never gets old. Seriously. It’s so witty and clever and absolutely frustrating because these two are so stubborn and it’s just great and awful at the same time. If you haven’t yet seen the beauty of Harry and Sally, then you’re in for a treat.

The Way He Looks (2014)

91yavuqqjul-_sy445_

This movie is like an ice cream sundae on a hot summer day. It is absolutely stunning. I love the quietness throughout and the way the friendship develops between the two main characters before it ever turns into more. I love that one of the characters is blind and he fights his way to independence. There’s so much to love about this one. And yay for two boys falling in love and having a happy ending!

Margarita With a Straw (2014)

margaritawithastraw-300

This movie is heartfelt and painful, but I loved it all the same. The main character has cerebral palsy, but that isn’t the focus of the story. Laila learns to be independent, far away from home, where she falls in love with a woman. It’s not as lighthearted as the movie poster might indicate, but it is so worth the watch. I loved the romance, and everything in between.

Dan in Real Life (2007)

dan_in_real_life

This is possibly my top favorite romance film of all time. It isn’t abundantly romantic. It focuses mainly on Dan’s family and  character development, and it is fantastic. This one has a pinch of forbidden love. Who doesn’t love that? I really love the overall atmosphere of this movie. It’s set in a small Rhode Island town and it’s full of quirky characters. The soundtrack is outstanding, which is just a plus.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

