A Resist/Protest Writing Playlist

Standard

Image result for resist

I Give You Power- Arcade Fire ft. Mavis Staples 

I give you power/I can take it away

When the President Talks to God- Bright Eyes

When the president talks to God/Do they drink near beer and go play golf/While they pick which countries to invade/Which Muslims souls still can be saved?/I guess God just calls a spade a spade

Master of War- Bob Dylan

You might say that I’m young/You might say I’m unlearned/But there’s one thing I know/Though I’m younger than you/That even Jesus would never forgive what you do

Fortunate Son- Creedence Clearwater Revival

Some folks are born silver spoon in hand/Lord, don’t they help themselves/But when the taxman comes to the door/Lord, the house looks like a rummage sale

Glory- John Legend and Common

Somewhere in the dream we had an epiphany/Now we right the wrongs in history/No one can win the war individually/It takes the wisdom of the elders and the young people’s energy

Troubled Times- Green Day

What good is love and peace on earth/When it’s exclusive?

Killing in the Name- Rage Against the Machine

Fuck you/I won’t do what you tell me

The Revolution Will Not Be Televised- Gil Scott-Heron

The revolution will not be televised, will not be televised, will not be televised/The revolution will be no re-run brothers/The revolution will be live

Fight the Power- Public Enemy

Our freedom of speech is freedom or death/We got to fight the powers that be 

American Idiot- Green Day

Well maybe I’m the faggot America/I’m not part of a redneck agenda/Now everybody do the propaganda/And sing along to the age of paranoia

Sleep Now in the Fire- Rage Against the Machine

I am the Nina, the Pinta, the Santa Maria/the noose and the rapist/the field’s overseer/The agents of orange/The priests of Hiroshima/The cost of my desire/Sleep now in the fire

FDT (Fuck Donald Trump) Pt. 2-YG ft. Macklemore and G-Eazy

I’m a patriot/ I’m a stay right here/I ain’t living in fear/With my people who are Muslims, Mexican and queer/And we ain’t gonna let you fuck up four years

 

 

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

