The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Standard

15724396

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer is the first book in Rick Riordan’s newest trilogy. It is a young adult fantasy surrounding Norse mythology. It follows Magnus Chase, a sixteen year old homeless kid from Boston, and Annabeth’s cousin. Annabeth Chase from Riordan’s Percy Jackson series, in case you didn’t know. 

I gave this book five stars. It was a good, easy read. It was a balanced mixture of serious and funny and action. Magnus is a great main character, and the people he surrounds himself with are just as rich and interesting. I really liked learning about Norse mythology, and I think Riordan weaved it through the story really well.

I am aware of people not liking this book as much. A lot of his fans were disappointed. At first, I was really surprised by this, but I think I realize now why I have had such a different reaction to this book. I have not finished the Percy Jackson series. I have only read the first book of that one, so this is my second Riordan book. I don’t know Riodan’s tricks and characterization, so when people claim he reuses the same plots and characters, I don’t know what they are talking about. I can say I did like this book more than the first book in the Percy Jackson series. I felt that they pacing was better, so I had more time to breathe in between action scenes. I liked the characters in this story better, and I liked that this book didn’t take itself that serious. That was a major complaint I saw people make. But honestly, and this maybe a little spoilery, but if he had tried to make me take talking swords and talking goats seriously, I don’t think I would have been able to finish this book.

I will continue this series.  The second book, The Hammer of Thor, actually October 4th, and the third book is scheduled to be out next year. So not a long wait between books for someone who wants to start them now.

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan | Writing Follies

Leave a Reply

