Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Standard

18660669

Vampire Academy is six book series about vampires in a boarding school. Specifically, three kinds of vampires: Moroi, vampires who are alive and use magic, Strigoi, immortal, undead and evil vampires, and dhampir, half-vampire half-humans who usually guard the Moroi against the Strigoi. The series follows Rose, a dhampir, who has to protect her best friend, Lissa, a Moroi princess.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this book, but I heard so much about this series I knew I needed to at least read the first book. So I did, and I really liked it. It was a solid four out of five stars for me. I thought the world was really interesting, and the characters were good too. Rose and Lissa’s friendship is great. I really liked seeing them together through their ups and downs. The mystery and twist was pretty good. It’s such an easy and light read that I wasn’t trying to guess what would happen, so I ended up pretty surprised at the end which is always a nice feeling.

There were a couple things I didn’t like though. The romance that kind of started kind of made me cringe, with its slut shaming and age difference, but it didn’t really go anywhere in this one so it was fine on the whole, I guess. I’ll just have to see if it actually develops in a better way in the future books. Also, there was this whole thing that Rose has bigger boobs than all the other girls since she was half human, and that made her so much more attractive that I could have really went without ever having to read. Also, the last thirty pages of the book weren’t that great. It was rushed. I hate when character development is told to me, and there was so much put in such little space.

I will definitely continuing this series when I can. I’m reading it through the library so whenever I go back and the second book is in will determine when I will. But I am excited for it even with its flaws. I hope the series simply gets better and better as it goes.

Leave a Reply

