The Olympics Book Tag

Standard

The Opening Ceremony: What book did you think had an incredible opening?

 Isis: The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. It opens up right when this otherwise ordinary man has turned into a “monstrous vermin” and if that doesn’t sound like an incredible opening, I don’t know what does. 

Nicole: Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. I recently started this book and find it hard to put down since the opening is so interesting.

 

The Games: What is your favorite fictional competition?

 Isis: Can I say Quidditch? Because Quidditch. 

 Nicole: Quidditch. I don’t even know another option.

 

The Original: The modern games are based on the original Greek competition. What is your favorite book based on a classic?

Isis: I haven’t read the book version of it, but I adore the Lizzie Bennet Diaries. This     webseries is based off of Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen and it is brilliant. I have the          book as well, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, and I’ll be reading it soon, hopefully!

 Nicole: I don’t think I have one. I own some, but I haven’t read them yet.

 

The Eternal Flame: What is one ship that you won’t let die, even after the books made it clear it was never going to happen?

Isis: SIMON AND NICK from Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky   Albertalli. I realize that Nick was super duper straight and crushing on a girl the entire time okay? I get it. But no one can convince me that Simon and Nick were not perfect soulmates who would have been wonderful together. Learning that Nick was not Blue shattered my heart and I think part of me eternally died because of it. If you couldn’t tell, I’m pretty bitter about it. Still. 

Nicole: I can usually spot the endgame couple easily, and typically don’t attach myself   to any couple that much. But I really shipped Rose and Lissa from Vampire Academy     together even though they were both straight. They had a great friendship that could have easily been made into a great romantic relationship.

 

Gymnastics: What’s a book that had so any twists and turns it left your head spinning (in a good way)?

Isis: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I have never read such an    action packed story full of endless twists that made my head spin. It was fun, nonetheless. 

Nicole: I think I’ll have to agree with Isis here.

 

The Controversial Judge: What’s a book that you have a totally different opinion about than most other people?

Isis: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. Everyone and their mother seems to           adore this book. I simply don’t get it. The book was okay. Pretty ordinary. I didn’t like the romance, but that’s probably because I didn’t like any of the characters either. The story  just didn’t pull me in. 

Nicole: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I hated this book, and most people seem to love it even if they acknowledge its flaws. I couldn’t love any part of it. It made me so mad.

 

Beach Volleyball: What is your favorite fictional duo?

Isis: I’m trying so hard not to mention Aristotle and Dante (only because I always            mention them, in everything). So instead of them I’m going to say Penryn and Raffe from   the Angelfall trilogy by Susan Ee. Those two made quite the badass duo and I couldn’t get enough of them. 

Nicole: I really liked the relationship Victor and Sydney had in Vicious by V.E. Schwab.

 

Weightlifting: What is the most massive book on your shelf?

 Isis: Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I have absolutely no idea when I’ll ever get to it.

Nicole: The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and preface by         Christopher Morley.

 

What is a book that you just tore through with world record speed?

Isis: Oh man, I recently read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in one day. I realize it’s a short play, but for me, reading an entire book in one day is a huge achievement. It also        helps how good it was. 

Nicole: The Dragonbreath books I recently read were all done in one sitting. I never do that.

 

Synchronized Swimming: What is a book series that you kept reading, even though you didn’t even have any idea why?

Isis: A couple of years ago I was pretty head over heels with the Cut & Run series by       Abigail Roux and Madeleine Urban. I read through the first eight books like it was       nothing. I mean I spent so much money, time, and emotions on that entire series. And I   didn’t know why. I mean, I loved the characters and I was so invested in their lives but          the books started getting so bad so fast and I knew I should stop, but I couldn’t. The ninth    book I read most recently and I knew I had hit rock bottom. It wasn’t even good. 

  Nicole: I don’t have one. I haven’t read that many series, but if I don’t like the first book     I usually don’t pick up the second one. Even if other people say the series just gets better.

 

The Tortured Fan: What fictional family, group, nation, organization do you irrationally root for no matter how many times they break your heart?

Isis: I’ll always, always root for Prince Robot IV from the Saga comics. He doesn’t really     have a group, unless you count him as part of the “villain” group. But whatever group         he’s in, I’m rooting for him. 

Nicole: I don’t know if this means villains, but I have to go with the Potter family. Harry, James, Lily. I will defend them all, but I don’t know if that really answers the question right.

 

Closing Ceremony: What book had an ending that just blew your mind?

Isis: Stranger on the Shore by Josh Lanyon had a pretty fantastic ending. I guess by the   time everything was revealed I already knew the mystery, but I wasn’t expecting so many     things. It was just a really memorable ending. 

 Nicole: Angelfall by Susan Ee.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

