10 Cloverfield Lane – Film Review

Standard

I went into this movie without any expectations. Only one person recommended this to me, and other than that, I heard absolutely nothing about it. The title, though, sounded familiar. I vaguely remember watching Cloverfield back in the day, but I never made it through the film because I don’t do well with shaky cameras. Although I’ve heard this movie called a sort-of sequel to Cloverfield, I found very little in common.

With a main cast of only three characters, the movie captures suspense wonderfully. It follows Michelle, played by Mary Elizabeth Winstead, as she packs her bags and takes off into the night road. She has a car wreck, and wakes up at a bunker with two men, the very eerie Howard, played by John Goodman, and my personal favorite Emmett, played by John Gallagher Jr. In here, understandably believing she’s been kidnapped by Howard, a paranoid man with one too many conspiracy theories, she is told that the outside world has been destroyed.

My favorite thing was the constant feeling of doom, even once Michelle felt a little more comfortable in the bunker. Howard’s unstable character kept me doubting his good intentions, and I wasn’t sure what was true and what wasn’t. In contrast, I loved Emmett’s innocence and quick alliance to Michelle, who was one of the best characters I’ve ever seen in a horror film. Michelle was a quick thinker, and she was so clever in all she did. I was actually rooting for her the entire time.

Nothing that happened in this movie was predictable. I was not sure what I was expecting, if anything, but I was left beyond astounded. There was something so original about this film, even though it had elements that are so overused. It was so well put together. I’m not sure what genre this film really fits into, but it left me a little disturbed. In a good way. I think this is one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time.

My rating: 9.5/10

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

