TV Show Spotlight: Shadowhunters

Standard

Name: Shadowhunters

Seasons: 1

What It’s About: A young Shadowhunter named Clary learns to cope with a whole new world that was kept hidden from her her entire life. Shadowhunters are half angel, half humans who protect the world from demons. In this world there are all sorts of paranormal creatures, including vampires, werewolves, and zombies. There are your typical evil villains and all the great twists you can think of.

My Thoughts: Although I have not read the Mortal Instruments series, nor do I plan to, I found this world to be completely captivating. I loved the characters and their interactions. There were strong female friendships from the start without any boring rivalries. Most of the main cast is POC, which just warms the cockles of my heart. I loved that there are so many mythical creatures without creating complete chaos. I must admit the special effects can be cheesy, along with some of the romantic storylines *cough, cough, Clary and Jace* but there was still so much to love. I think my love for the show is rooted in the wonderful existence of Magnus, but it evolved into more when I fell for Izzy and Alec and Simon. I think people should see this show as an entirely separate entity from the books. I think this is such a great show, and I cannot wait for the next season.

Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

