Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – Book Review

Standard

I’m so conflicted. I’ve been obsessively thinking about this book, and its meaning. I’ve been trying to figure out whether I’m angry at the reality of the situation, or if it’s simply problematic on its own. I’ve tried to analyze every aspect of this story, along with its characters, over and over again.

image

The truth is, I don’t know. I’m entirely confused, possibly because I feel too many emotions over this book. And trust me, I wish I didn’t. I wish I was an emotionless robot so I couldn’t feel a damned thing.

This story follows Louisa Clark as she takes on the responsibilities of caregiver to a quadriplegic man, Will Traynor. The two don’t hit it off at first, but soon they form a sweet friendship. At one point, Louisa makes it her duty to take Will on many adventures to lift up his spirits and show him that life is worth living.

I loved the dynamic between the two main characters. They were both very witty and they shared a lot of interesting conversations. I liked the way their friendship evolved, how they grew to trust each other. I liked so many things about them. Louisa dealt with her family, most of all her sister. She tried to figure out what she wanted to do with her life. She had so many relatable things going on, and I really felt for her. I wanted her to overcome everything.

And Will? I adored Will. His humor and wit were just perfect, and every time he spoke my whole face lit up. I worried for him, for his well-being, for his peace of mind. I was hopeful when it came to him, because this is fiction and great, unimaginable things can happen in fiction. Right?

Now, I’m not so sure. I don’t mean to sound bitter, but my life has gone to shit lately. I’ve lost many family members recently, and at times it feels as though the only thing I need is to get struck by lightning to wrap it all up in a bow. So I turn to fiction, hoping that things will turn out better and brighter for fictional characters. I always want the best for them.

That, my friends, is not what I found in this book. But oddly enough, I get it. I understand why everything happened. I don’t know if it’s right, but I don’t know many things lately. I definitely enjoyed this book, and do not regret reading it. I was completely immersed in the story, the characters, the beautiful friendship, and the love. I have seen the movie trailer countless times, and I plan on watching the film as soon as it comes out.

But I will probably never read it again. I wouldn’t willingly put myself through this misery again. My head’s a mess, still analyzing what all happened here. This is the most heart-wrenching book I’ve ever read.

image

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

