The Color Purple by Alice Walker – Book Review

Standard

“And I try to teach my heart not to want nothing it can’t have.”

The Color Purple is a stunning novel about the hardships and blessings of life. It is a story of abuse – emotional and physical – as well as it is a story about love and friendship and unity.

The writing style is quite peculiar, but it never distanced me from the characters or the story. There were many difficult scenes, but it never made me want to stop reading. I enjoyed the various different relationships in the book. The main character, Celie, meets people she can trust and others she can’t, but these relationships evolve throughout the book. I really appreciated that aspect. It’s so realistic to our world. We keep evolving as people, so of course our relationships with others change with us.

“Have you ever found God in church? I never did. I just found a bunch of folks hoping for him to show. Any God I ever felt in church I brought in with me. And I think all the other folks did too. They come to church to share God, not find God.”

I was deeply moved by this story. There is a beautiful lesbian romance in this novel, which I found lovely. I wasn’t expecting to adore these characters as much as I did, but the entire book was so charmingly written. It was hard not to love it.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

