Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling – Book Review

Standard

mindy-kaling-why-not-me

“Work hard, know your shit, show your shit, and then feel entitled.”

There are many reasons why I love Mindy Kaling, but this review isn’t about her, it’s about her book. So, instead of listing the many reasons why I love Mindy Kaling, I will talk about why I loved her book so much.

Honesty is something I highly value, and this book floods with it. Mindy talks about her life, her friends, her work, her adventures–both the good and the completely embarrassing. There are informative essays about college frats and sororities, fancy White House dinners, sex scenes on screen, soup snakes, and (my favorite) confidence.

In each of these essays, Mindy taught me valuable lessons that ultimately narrow down to having a positive attitude and knowing what makes you happy so that you can work towards achieving it. I really loved the way she expressed her insecurities while at the same time showcasing her confidence. Though that might sound like a paradox, I think it’s naive to believe no confident person has insecurities that sometimes fall through the cracks. And the reason for that is that no one is perfect. Yet the media tries to point fingers to celebrities imperfections and blow things out of proportions for entertainment. This is why books like these are important.

As an aspiring author and TV writer, I look up to Mindy, and I always have. She gives me hope and motivation that someday I will be as successful as her. Me, a young woman, a minority, who loves to make people laugh. It’s people like Mindy that make this world a better place. Yes, I know I diverted from talking about the book, but I couldn’t help myself. I love Mindy Kaling. Her audacity and fierceness is inspiring.

image

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

