My Life in 10 Books (Tag)

Standard

This tag was created by the lovely Emily May from TheBookGeek. You can watch her video here. In this tag, Nicole and I chose 10 books that have really made an impact in our lives at the time period that we read them. These books were important to us for various reasons, so let’s get started.

1.

NICOLE

Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park

I didn’t read this series technically, but my kindergarten teacher would read them to us every day, and I loved it so much. It’s one of the first books I remember reading and enjoying.

ISIS

A Separate Peace by John Knowles

I read this book in my sophomore English class in high school. I wasn’t an avid reader, so I struggled with it, but I understood the story completely. I was captivated by the friendship in this book, and the heart-wrenching ending. It was the first time a book really affected me emotionally.

2.

NICOLE

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor

I read this in fifth grade and while I never hated reading before, this is the book that made me love to read and to write.

ISIS

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

This was the very first book I read outside of school. I remember staying up late reading and being amazed by how a bunch of words on paper could make me so happy. Not only did this make me love reading, it also made me start writing. I’d always loved writing, but I never wrote. I don’t think I would write or read as much as I do now if it weren’t for this book.

3.

NICOLE

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Looking back now I don’t understand how I could have started reading this book series on the fourth book, but I did and it became my first book obsession. Harry Potter got me through my terrible middle school years and still helps me today when I get overwhelmed.

ISIS

Anne Frank and Me by Cherie Bennett and Jeff Gottesfeld

I was still a sophomore in high school who was starting to get into reading when my English teacher suggested I take a book from her shelf to read. I started it at school and took it home, and I did not sleep at all on that school night. This book was depressing and a bit graphic, but I couldn’t put it down. It was my first book love without a sparkly vampire.

4.

NICOLE

Maximum Ride by James Patterson

Another favorite in middle school, but one I can’t get through now. But it’s important anyway because it influenced my writing style and how I view other books.

ISIS

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

This was another assigned reading, and another love of mine. This book opened my eyes in regards to human nature. It made me realize that selfishness is the very essence of us. This book is a masterpiece and it captivated me. It’s always stayed with me.

5.

NICOLE

Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

One of the books I read in high school. I learned romance wasn’t that bad through this one.

ISIS

 Luna by Julie Anne Peters

If it wasn’t for this book, I wouldn’t be the person I am today. I learned empathy through it. I learned that other people have serious problems. I learned that people are different and unique and we should cherish that, not degrade it.

6.

NICOLE

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I hated reading this book. It was so sad and I didn’t understand at the time why anyone would write such horrible things. But it did open my eyes.

ISIS

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel

I read this in college, and it was a delightful experience. I’d never read a book set in Mexico, or a novel about magical realism. I think it broadened my mind and it made me think outside the box. I loved the traditions talked about in this novel. It made me realize I’m missing many traditions from my culture.

7.

NICOLE

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I remember this being so different than anything else I had read at that time. it’s one of those books when you finish it you simply stare at the wall for a while thinking over everything.

ISIS

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

I didn’t grow up reading this beloved series. I wasn’t part of the enormous fandom either. I read these books a couple of years ago, and I appreciated them for what they were. These characters have stuck with me and I don’t think they’ll ever leave. This book in particular made me cry and it hit some very personal issues, so I love it the most.

8.

NICOLE

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is the book that started book club.

ISIS

Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo

This book really impacted me. It made me hopeful. It made me stupidly happy. This book came to me when I needed it the most. It’s always a comforting thought at the back of my mind, that this book exists.

9.

NICOLE

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Another book that after finishing I stared at the wall for a while.

ISIS

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

If there was one book that I could point to and tell you that it completely encapsulates my very essence, it would be this one. Also, Saenz is kind of my soul mate, so there’s that.

10.

NICOLE

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

I did not like this book. I wrote a review over it even. But it’s important because I believe it threw me into my biggest book slump ever. I still am trying to get out of it even now.

ISIS

We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas

I feel personally victimized by this book. It really set out to hurt me. It deals with issues close to my heart. I never expected it to have this long lasting effect on me, but it did. It’s also the book I always turn to when I need motivation to keep writing.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

