Carry the Ocean by Heidi Cullinan – Book Review

Standard


I’m still trying to make sense of the awesomeness I just read.

“Everyone is different. Nothing in the world is the same as anything else, so how can anyone be normal?” 

I have no words. Carry the Ocean stole them all from me. This is the story of two boys. Emmet, who is an intelligent, lovely, autistic boy. And Jeremey, a shy, kind boy with severe depression and anxiety. Much of this story deals with both of their mental issues and the way they deal with them. It’s highly informative and it touches on very interesting subjects. I could relate to everything the characters were going through. I could empathize, and I could love them as much as they deserved to be loved.

Throughout the book, Emmet and Jeremey share a special relationship. It really brings the book together, they way these two boys care for each other. They truly understand one another, and it was a delight to read about their adventures as well as their struggles.

“People are good medicine, but they can’t be your foundation of functionality. You must build that yourself.”

I adored the way Jeremey overcame many of his obstacles. With the help of the wonderful people in his life, he was able to take on challenges that had been torturing him for a while. All I wanted was to protect that boy. I wanted to take all of his pain away. In the same way I wanted Emmet to succeed and be as happy as can be. His frankness was both endearing and hilarious. He was the most uplifting presence at times. At one point in the story, it hit me how much I loved these characters. It hit me so suddenly and I didn’t know what to do with this discovery.

“That’s the big thing I learned this year: it’s okay to go slow. That everybody else’s pace and definition of success isn’t mine. What is easy for other people isn’t necessarily so for me. Though some things are easy for me and hard for other people.” 

The only thing I can do is just recommend this to everyone out there. I was able to laugh, cry, and experience so many things in this novel. I read it slowly because the characters’ anxiety gave me anxiety, but once I overcame that it was a breeze. It was just all-around great. I can’t wait for more Emmet and Jeremey and my new favorite, David. Now I’ll have to watch the Blues Brothers!

“It’s like Elwood Blues says: everybody needs somebody to love. I’m an everybody. I get a somebody.”

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Shelter the Sea (The Roosevelt) by Heidi Cullinan – Book Review | Writing Follies

Leave a Reply

