Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – Book Review

Standard

I’m tired of coming out. All I ever do is come out. I try not to change, but I keep changing, in all these tiny ways. I get a girlfriend. I have a beer. And every freaking time, I have to reintroduce myself to the universe all over again.

I experienced this book entirely different from everyone else. The thing is, I came out of this book with a big depression. Why? It has one of the most cheerful endings I’ve ever read. And yet I wanted to burn the book and then cry for a hundred years. Hence, why I say I experienced it differently, probably from what the author intended as well.

This novel follows Simon Spier, a teenage boy who is secretly gay and secretly emailing a boy who goes to his school and calls himself Blue to keep his true identity secret. Simon constantly rediscovers himself and the world around him in really endearing ways. He deals with his sexuality, his family, his friends, and his love life.

I flew through this book. I picked it up and I could not put it down. It took me a while to fall for Simon, our main character, but when I did, I fell hard. That boy made me laugh and smile and roll my eyes all at the same time. His friends were really interesting, diverse people, and I really appreciated that variety. Representation is so important in books, especially young adult novels. So, I was cheering on for Simon and his happily ever after.

However, I did not love the ending of this book. I didn’t. And I wish I had. I waited desperately to solve that epic mystery and once I did, I wanted to take it back. I know that this is an unpopular opinion because the majority adores this book. And I can see why. It’s filled with great characters and important themes. Bravo. But none of this changes the way I felt about that reveal. I had my heart set on something much different, and I was apparently the only one who felt this way.

Anyway, I think this book affected me emotionally much more than any other book. Even my favorite books didn’t give me such a book hangover. I think I’ll go back to it in a few years and give it another read, and hopefully it’ll bring out the appropriate cheerful reaction from me.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

