Writing Playlist #5 – Favorite Songs

Standard

I’ve been doing a lot of writing lately. It occurred to me that I usually rely on the same few songs to really get my inspiration kicking. I tried to narrow it down to these few songs because I know they will always move me. There’s something truly special about these songs, some perfect recipe that makes me feel so many emotions at once. I’m sure these won’t work for everyone, but I still think you should give music a try whenever you need that push to create something new.

~~~*~~~

* Arrival of the Birds and Transformation – The Cinematic Orchestra

Sigh No More – Mumford & Sons
Love, it will not betray you, dismay or enslave you, it will set you free.
Be more like the man you were made to be.

The Rain Song – Led Zeppelin
This is the wonder of devotion. I see the torch we all must hold.
This is the mystery of the quotient. Upon us all, a little rain must fall.

* Ho Hey – The Lumineers
I’ve been trying to do it right. I’ve been living a lonely life.
I’ve been sleeping here instead. I’ve been sleeping in my bed.

* Joy – Ellie Goulding
I know I’ll always ache with an empty heart.
I think it’s time to run ’cause I’m seeing stars.

* Can’t Help Falling in Love – Elvis Presley
Like a river flows, surely to the sea. Darling so it goes, some things are meant to be.
Take my hand. Take my whole life too, for I can’t help falling in love with you.

* Bloodflood pt. II – Alt-J
A flood of blood to the heart.
A flood of blood to the heart.

One response »

Leave a Reply

