Book Review- A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Standard

227463

I’ve never heard anything bad about this book before. It was always called a favorite book, life changing, a must read, so when I spotted it at book sale I knew I had to pick it up. I must say it did not live up to the hype. Not to say it was badly written. It was written very well. I felt completely submerged in the world that Burgess created. The invented slang was equally amazing as it was annoying. I like how it was written. What was written, well, that’s another thing.

As a reader, you weren’t supposed to like Alex. He was a horrible person. I didn’t connect with him at all, thankfully, but that made it hard to read. For me, characters are really important for my reading experience. So getting through this was tough. Then, there was the violence. I didn’t think it would bother me. I can watch crime shows all day long, and not be bothered. But reading it was another thing entirely. I felt like I got brainwashed along with Alex, and after I finished the book I avoided any kind of violence for a while.

The question the book brings up about being good and the freedom of choice is an interesting one. I have to say, however, that I wasn’t interested in answering it or thinking about it after finishing the book. What do I care about what happened to Alex? Even when not talking about him in particular. Anything to do with that debate reminds me of him so it leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

2 responses »

  1. I felt similarly when I read A Clockwork Orange in that the violence and Alex were extremely repulsive to me, and more upsetting than I had expected them to be. The book is well-written and it does give you food for thought though, and I found the slang to add to the content as I speak Russian and that’s what it’s derived from (although the corrupted pronunciation of most of the words did annoy me a bit).
    Good review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

