Character Spotlight #5

Standard

Featured image

Name: Penryn Young

Book: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Get to Know Her: Penryn is a seventeen-year-old girl caught in the middle of the apocalypse caused by angels. She’s really good at self defense. She’s holding her family together–her schizophrenic mother and disabled little sister. She is determined, strong, brave, and kindhearted. Penryn will stop to nothing to save those she loves. Despite everything going on around her, Penryn is still a teenage girl, with the same problems and feelings and thoughts. She’s intelligent and loyal. She’s so human, but not in a bad way. She’s one kickass character.

Why I Love Her: I love that Penryn is badass. I felt so confident in her. I didn’t have to worry if she would get herself into trouble because I knew she would, but she knew how to get out of it. I loved trusting her. I loved loving her from the very first page. That sort of connection hardly happens to me. I really enjoyed reading about her. She had an admirable strength. She was quick-witted and vulnerable at times, but that only made me love her more. She stood up to an angel, to more than one angel. She was just fantastic in every way.

Favorite Quote: “I never thought about it before, but I’m proud to be human. We’re ever so flawed. We’re frail, confused, violent, and we struggle with so many issues. But all in all, I’m proud to be a Daughter of Man.”

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

