We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – Book Review

Standard

Anyone who’s into Young Adult books, or books in general, has heard about this highly popular book. We Were Liars blew up, and at one point it seemed like everyone was reading it. I was put off by the mixed reviews, and the knowledge that there was some kind of twist at the end. “Wow,” I said to myself, “like I’m ever going to read that.”

Fast forward to a boring night in which I ventured to my Kindle in search of a new ebook. I looked at We Were Liars, and I thought I might as well give it a shot. It was short, after all, so even if I hated it, I wouldn’t have wasted much of my time on it.

I gotta say, this book blew my mind to pieces. It fucking destroyed me in every possible delicious way. The verse was poetic and simple and poignant. Every word was there for a reason. There were parts in which I felt I was reading a poem, and I was reminded of the times when I loved poetry. It made me want to pick up a poetry book. It was just stunningly written.

The characters were impactful. Cadece Sinclair should have bugged the shit out of me. She should have been annoying, but she was far from it. I loved her voice, her mind, her thoughts. The rest of the Liars really grew on me as well, especially Gat. That Gat was my favorite. I loved his vocabulary and his view of the world. I loved Johnny and his humor. I loved Mirren and her dreams. I loved all four of them so much. And the best part was that I didn’t realize this until the end. Until the very last page, when the story ended, and I felt like someone had punched me right in the stomach.

This book was beautiful. It was heart-wrenching at times, but worth the read. It was so unique, even though it really wasn’t. What I mean by that is that a lot of the story wasn’t anything new or extraordinary, but the way it was delivered made it special. It made it so much more. I’m so glad I decided to give this a shot after all.

If you’ve heard about this book and you’re hesitant about reading it because of the hype, I suggest you suck it up and read it anyway. It really is incredible.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

