A List of Our Favorite Female Protagonists

Standard
  • Eleanor Douglas (Eleanor & Park): One of the most memorable, beloved female characters of mine is Eleanor. I adored her from the start. This girl was sassy. She was unique. She had struggles but she didn’t whine. She survived. She was lovely and inspirational.
  • Penryn Young (Angelfall): Wow this girl is so cool she puts angels to shame. I cannot state how badass she is. She’s strong and feisty and brave. She’s completely independent and intelligent. She’s determined. She has direction. She’s what every young girl should look up to. This girl should be a superhero.
  • Mia Hall (If I Stay): I think my favorite thing about Mia is her passion for music. I thought I loved music, but Mia makes my love for music seem microscopic. She’s so loving and she’s sweet. She’s a great friend too. I felt so much for Mia. I always understood her.
  • Elizabeth Bennet (Pride and Prejudice): This woman surprised me in the best ways. She stood up for herself. She was so bright and confident. She considered everyone her equal, no matter the gender or society status. She was so amazing that I didn’t know if I liked her or Mr. Darcy more.
  • Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games Series): It took me a while to really love this girl, but when I did, it was the kind of irreversible love. I obviously admired her. But her hard shell exterior–and often, interior–really didn’t impress me. I get it. She was in a tough situation. But I wanted more feeling from her. And when I got it, it killed me. I love her so much.
  • Scout Finch (To Kill a Mockingbird): An innocent child experiencing not-so-innocent events. It’s hard not to like this little girl.
  • Cather Avery (Fangirl): Socially anxious people are usually hard to read, but only because their anxiousness spreads to the reader. Cath, as she likes to be called, is very passionate about Simon Snow and fanfiction. She loves her family, and often has to be the pillar of strength.
  • Regan (Luna): She is a typical sixteen year old, awkward and self conscious and moody. She resents her parents, and loves her sister.
  • Eileen Tumulty (We Are Not Ourselves): From a poor immigrant family, all she wants is to make it big. She pushes herself and her family around her even when it isn’t exactly what she or they wants. She is a very strong woman, a little distant and cold, but she loves her family and wants the best for them.
About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

