Creatures of the Night – Book Tag

Standard

Hi! So, this wonderful Halloweenish tag was created on YouTube by Katytastic. I will link her video right here. I’m very excited about Halloween this year, and I thought this would be interesting. I tried not to use books that were the most obvious choices.

Here it is!

1. VAMPIRE

Vampirates: Demons of the Ocean by Justin Somper

Let me break this down for you. Vampires + Pirates = Vampirates. Yup. That’s right. That’s a thing. I personally enjoy the concept of these creatures. I think more people should check out these books. If you didn’t like Twilight, but did like POTC, then this might be for you.

2. WEREWOLF

Waiting For the Wolf Moon by Evelyn Vaughn

Although this is a romance novel, I really liked it. It was an interesting twist on the werewolf, and it was filled with fun twists that kept me guessing. It’s also written by my old Creative Writing professor, but I promise I’m unbiased in my recommendation.

3. ZOMBIE

Married with Zombies by Jesse Petersen

This book is action-packed, and it is soooo good. I kid you not, I flew through this book, and once I was finished, I was scared of stepping out of my house, convinced that the streets were filled with zombies. And on top of the zombies, we have the two MCs who are struggling to fix their marriage, but suddenly they have to become badass zombie hunters. Bam. Can’t get any better than that.

4. GHOST

The Shining by Stephen King

This horror classic has probably been read by everyone already, but I decided to throw it in anyway. I loved Danny Torrance so much, and I was really surprised by all of the ghosts in this story. They were so complex and even frightening. I mean, I won’t try to sell this book to you. It’s a King novel, just read it, yo.

5. WITCH/WARLOCK/SPELLCASTER

Beastly by Alex Flinn

Way better than the movie, that’s all I gotta say. Oh, and also, the witch in this book is fantastic.

6. FAERY/FAE

The Eternals by Clover Donovan

I recently read this middle grade fantasy novel, and I was so glad to find that faeries were part of the story. There were both good and bad ones, and I liked them both. Go check this book out if you’re in the minority who enjoys faeries.

7. DEMON

The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty

Another classic of the horror genre. Now I know you can classify the entity in this novel as the devil himself or a real narcissistic demon, but either way, this book is great. If you’re feeling in the scary mood, then check this out. Again, better than the movie.

8. ANGEL

A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

This is a short story, but it’s going in this like nonetheless. I love angels, but I haven’t read any books by them, unfortunately. I will fix this, but right now, I will just mention this lovely story. It breaks my heart every time.

9. ALIEN

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

This is my favorite comic book. It’s full of badass aliens, all with interesting stories. The art is fantastic, and on par with the writing. I love all the characters, especially the bad guys. Prince Robot IV is the best villain I’ve ever read about. Waste no more precious time and pick this up.

10. SUPERPOWERED HUMAN

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

This dystopian book has one of my favorite fictional characters. Warner is so brooding and mean, but I love him. If you were looking for superpowered humans, this is the book to read. They’re not scary at all, but they are a blast. My personal favorite is the third book in the trilogy, Ignite Me, but you gotta start with this one. This is basically X-Men, but not quite the same.

~*~

That’s it! Those are my really vague book recs.

About Nicole & Isis

Hi! This is Nicole and Isis, and we will be running this awesome book blog. We're both aspiring authors, which means that we do a lot of reading and writing, so we hope you enjoy our posts! Currently, we're both co-writing an urban fantasy novel, as well as writing our own individual fiction novels. Basically, we're both constantly writing. But in order to write better, one must read. Therefore, we have our very own book club. Here we will discuss some of our favorite books.

Leave a Reply

